Waiting for Leah

The story of our family as we wait for our adopted daughter

The price of adoption September 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bloggingforleah @ 2:56 pm
Tags: , ,

Adoption is expensive!! My husband refuses to get a loan so I need to get super creative with fundraising!!! I love my husband and agree with this. I love how some blogs have raffles and give-aways. I want to try that – just need to figure out how to make my blog more user friendly. Does anyone know of a blog designer I can hire that is not too expensive??

This week we have two applications to turn in. One to our agency that is doing our homestudy for $150.00 and the other to our main international agency for $500.00. And this is just the beginning. 🙂 I am definately taking a picture of us at the post office tomorrow mailing them in – will put that up as soon as I download it. Our next big cost will be the homstudy fee at $1,550.00 due in the next 4 months. We get to split that up into two payments. We also will owe our international agency part of their dues, which will be 2,500.00. Then at referral we will owe the international agency $2,500.00. We have to use a seperate, local, agency for our homestudy because we are too far away from Maryland to use our international agency for homestudy. But we do have to travel up there upon them receiving our application to have a face to face interview. I know the Korea fee is $18,540.00 and that is due upon referral when we get the picture of our precious daughter and accept the referral. WHEW. Just writing it out my heart is racing faster.
I know God will provide in this and at least it is broken up into payments, with the big chunk being at the end. So we have time to save. There are some other fees as well – The cost will all end up being a little under 30 grand. But our little Leah? Priceless!
I think in this verse in Proverbs the Lord is trying to tell us to watch our money and to pay attention to where it goes. !!!! Hard to do for a woman who LOVES to shop.
Proverbs 27:23
Know well the face of your flocks; and pay attention to your herds.

Blessings to all who read!

 

One Response to “The price of adoption”

  1. Jenny Says:

    i’m sure saving is even harder when you have little ones already!!! you can do it though!!!!


Leave a Reply

