Waiting for Leah

The story of our family as we wait for our adopted daughter

Chocolate Fudge cake that feeds the soul October 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bloggingforleah @ 2:44 pm
Tags: , ,

chocolatecake-main_FullLast night I had gotten both the kids to sleep and was so happy to be cutting my hubby and I a piece of cake. I had just put them on the plates, poured us each a glass of milk and was about to carry it all into the living room to have some couple time with Daniel. I heard Anderson start crying. I looked longingly at my piece of cake as I went upstairs and started rocking Anderson. I started wishing him to go back to sleep so I could enjoy that piece of cake sitting downstairs. Then I heard a small voice “Be still and know that I am God.” I was reminded just how blessed I am to get the priveledge of raising my sweet baby and how these moments are fleeting. Holding him, loving his sweet little being, and looking at his cute face made me realize how I should not be in a hurry to eat a piece of cake that will in no way contribute to my jean size. So I enjoyed the moment. Fully. I prayed for him and his big brother, prayed for Leah, and gave thanks for the many many blessings in my life. Who says Fudge cake isn’t good for you?

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate Fudge cake that feeds the soul”

  1. Mom Says:

    WOW, Honey! What an awesome blog ~ It brought tears to my eyes. . . ! Leah will be a blessed little girl to have such loving, Godly parents!! (Plus older brothers, too!) It is going to be exciting to see “what all” the Lord has in store for the Read family during this process ~ What an EXCITING time as we
    “wait” on this precious little, bundle from heaven!!!
    Praying for you all AND LEAH daily!!

  2. Amiee Says:

    Great Post! I find myself doing the same thing. I have to tell myself to sloooowwww doooowwwn and just enjoy the moment. My oldest is ten and the years have just flown by.


Leave a Reply

